Country & Region

Location: Index > Country & Region > USA

EB-5 Investment Immigration Visa

2015-10-02

EB-5 investment immigration plan is the immigrant visa category set up for overseas investment immigrants, “EB -5” (Employment Based Fifth Preference) for short. The visa of this category has been put into practice since 1991. In 1993, American government specially set up an additional kind of “Regional Center Pilot Program” in American Immigration Law,  and softened "ten job opportunities need to be created directly" to " ten job opportunities need to be created directly or indirectly" and decreased the minimum investment amount of 1.00 million dollars to 500 thousand dollars in the immigration application conditions, making EB-5 a convenient and fast channel with shortest approval time of the application and  the least limitation to qualification condition among all American immigration categories.

The Obtaining of EB-5 Qualification
According to EB-5 visa rules, the applicant can invest 500 thousand dollars in the “Regional Center” to obtain the EB-5 qualification:

In order to attract foreign capital to concentratedly invest in the area that the government has specially planned and approved for the promotion of the local economic development, American government has specially set up an additional kind of " Regional Center Pilot Program " in American Immigration Law,  namely that if the investor make the investment in the “Regional Area” approved by American government, then the investment amount for immigration application can be decreased to 500 thousand dollars and the regulation of “ten job opportunities need to be created directly” in the original conditions has been softened to “ten job opportunities need to be created directly or indirectly”. The softening of this qualification conditions has greatly attracted a group of foreign investors who are not familiar with the American business environment. (*According to the regulations of the American Immigration Law, the current statutory limitations of Regional Center Immigration Program will be implemented to September 30, 2015.)

The Most Loose Application Conditions
EB-5 is quite loose in qualification conditions for the applicants. Investors only need to prove that the source of the investment fund is legally obtained without any limitation to business background, age, education level and language capability. And there is no need for the investors to give up their own domestic business and run the EB-5 investment project by themselves. In addition, “Whole Family Immigration” is also one of EB-5’s features. namely that the investor,  spouse and unmarried children under 21 years old can apply for immigration at the same time.

American government regulates that the valid period of conditional green cards is two years. Investors can make the application to U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services for removing the conditional immigrant visa. As long as the investors' investment is still truly existed by this time, their application will be approved by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services and they will become the permanent residents. During the valid period that the investors holds the conditional green cards, they not only can enter and exit America freely without any confusion on  immigration restrictions, but also can work freely in America. If the investors have domestic business which needs to be taken care of, they can choose not to live in America for a long time with no impact on their immigration status.

At present, the quota of people that American government grants EB-5 visa each year is 10,000, among which, the quota that can be given to Chinese investors won't exceed about 8,000.

Fund and fees related to American EB-5 investment immigration application include:

1. Investment fund (if the application is not successful, the fund will be fully refunded.)
Investment Principal-USD 500,000.00, and
Project Offering Fees -USD 55,000.00
2. Consulting fee and American lawyer fee: USD10,000.00 and USD18,000.00 (for handling I-526)
3. Administrative fee of the third-party escrow fee by Bank of China: USD1,500.00
4. Application Fee: USD1,500.00
5. Notarial documents: About RMB One hundred only to One thousand only
6. Physical Examination Report: About RMB900.00
7. Immigrant visa fee at American Consulate: USD345.00 each person
8. Handling fee of Green Card: USD165.00 each person


Application process of American investment immigration:
1. Documents, including personal data, work experience, source of fund, etc., will be sent to American lawyer for review to determine the applicant’s success rate;
2. The investor remits the investment principal of USD500,000.00 and project offering fee of USD55,000.00 to American project developer’s special account as subscription amount;
3. Supplement and organize documents according to the lawyer’s suggestions, and then the relevant application will be sent to U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services for formal acceptance. It will take about 13 months to get I-526 approval in principal;
4. After I-526 approval is got, the file will be transferred to American Consulate in the applicant's habitual residence (American General Consulate in Guangzhou, China) for the application of the immigrant visa. It will take about 3-5 months to notify the applicant and the family members to conduct physical examination and provide the notarial certificate of non-criminal record. After the visa interview, the whole family will get the immigrant visa in 5 working days;
5. After getting the immigrant visa, the applicant needs to enter America within 6 months and apply for the conditional temporary green card and social security card with the validity period of 2 years;
6. American green card holder cannot leave America for 12 consecutive months every time;
7. Within 21 months after the entry to America, the head office provides the project development information and employees' employment records to the investment immigration applicant’s lawyer so that the applicant can successfully apply for removing I-829 conditions and getting the unconditional green card with validity period of 10 years before conditional temporary green card with the validity period of 2 years expires.
8. If the green card holder lives in America for two and a half years accumulatively within any consecutive 5 years, and hasn't left America for more than 6 consecutive months every time, he/she can apply for American naturalization, become an American citizen after passing all required conditions, and then apply for American passport.

  • Prev:
  • Next:

国家及地区

您当前的位置: 首页 > 国家及地区 > 美国

美国EB-5投资移民

2015-10-02

EB-5 投资移民方案是美国移民法中针对海外投资移民者所设立的移民签证类别,简称“ EB -5 ”( Employment Based Fifth Preference )。此类签证从 1991 年起实行,美国政府并于 1993 年在 EB-5 移民法规中特别增设了一种“地区中心移民方案”( Regional Center Pilot Program ) , 将移民申请条件中对“须直接创造十个就业机会”的规定放宽为“直接或间接创造十个就业机会”及最低投资金额从100万美元降低到50万美元。使 EB-5 成为美国所有移民类别中,申请核准时间最短、资格条件限制最少的一条便捷通道。

 

EB-5获得资格

根据 EB-5 签证规则,申请人可以在经政府批准的“地区中心”投资五十万美元以上而取得 EB-5 资格:

为了吸引国外资金集中投资于政府特别规划核准的地区,以有效促进地方经济的发展,美国政府于 1993 年起,在 EB-5 移民法规中特别设立了一项“地区中心移民方案”( Regional Center Pilot Program ),即投资人若投资于通过美国政府核准的“地区中心”,则移民申请的投资额可降到50万美元,并对原移民申请条件中“须直接创造十个就业机会”的规定,放宽为“可直接或间接创造十个就业机会”。此项资格条件的放宽,大大吸引了一批不太熟悉美国商业环境的外国投资人


最宽松的申请条件

EB-5 对申请人的资格条件相当宽松,投资人无须受任何商业背景、年龄、教育程度及语言能力的限制,只要证明其投资资金来源为合法所得。投资者无须放弃自己本国的生意而亲自经营 EB-5 投资项目。另外,“全家移民”也是 EB-5 的一大特色:即投资人及其配偶和未满 21 岁的未婚儿女均可同时申请移民。 

美国政府规定有条件绿卡的期限是两年。在两年届满的前三个月内,投资人可向美国移民局提出解除有条件移民签证的申请。只要此时投资人的投资仍真实存在,就将获美国移民局的批准成为永久居民。投资人在持有条件绿卡期间,不但可自由进出美国,无移民监的困扰,也有在美国工作的自由。如果投资人在原居住国因事业须照顾,也可选择不长期居住美国而不影响其移民身份。

目前,美国政府每年授予 EB-5 签证的名额有 10,000 名,其中可以给中国投资者使用的名额是不能超过约8,000。 

 

美国投资移民申请进程:

1. 申请人之个人资料、工作经历、资金来源等文件送交予美国律师审阅, 确定申请人的成功率

2. 申请人把投资本金美金500,000元及项目发行费美金55,000元投到美国项目发展商专用账户作为认购

3. 按律师意见补充及整理妥当后, 有关申请将会送交美国移民部正式受理, 约13个月左右取得I-526原则批准

4. 取得I-526后, 档案会被内部转移到申请人常居地的美国领事馆(美国驻华广州总领事馆)申请移民签证, 约3-5个月左右通知申请人及家庭成员体检及提供无犯罪公证书, 面签后5个工作日获一家人的移民签证

5. 获发出移民签证后, 需于6个月内内到美国报到及申领2年有效的有条件临时绿卡与社保卡

6. 美国绿卡持有人每次离开美国不能连续超过12个月

7. 到美国报到后21个月,  总公司提供项目发展情况资料及雇员雇佣记录给投资移民申请人的律师, 以便替申请人在到2年有效的有条件临时绿卡到期前能成功申请到I-829取消条件, 继而获发10年有效期无条件绿卡

8. 绿卡持有人于任何一个连续的5年内累计住满2年半, 而且每次离开美国没有连续超过6个月, 便可申请入藉美国, 通过所需条件, 成为美国公民, 继而申领美国护照


 

美国EB-5投资移民申请所涉及的资金及费用包括:

1. 投资款项 (不成功, 全退款) :

投资本金-美金500,000元, 及

项目发行费-美金55,000元

2. 顾问费及美国律师费:美金10,000元 及 美金18,000元 (办理I-526)

3. 中国银行第三方监管帐户管理费:美金1,500元

4. 申请费用:美金1,500元

5. 公证文件:约人民币数百至千多元

6. 体检报告:每人约为人民币900元

7. 美国领事馆移民签证费:每人美金345元

8. 绿卡办理费:每人美金165元